Book search:

Oak Tree Fine Press

Oak Tree Fine Press is a privately owned publishing company specializing in exceptional literary fiction
The First Chapter Series ® (Booker Prize) is a contribution by authors of the first chapter of their prize winning novels in support of children living with HIV/AIDS

First Chapter Series
Booker Prize

First Chapter Series ® Volume VI

Margaret Atwood - Blind Assassin

Artwork by Yoko Ono

Volume VI of the First Chapter Series® Booker Prize is Margaret Atwood's The Blind Assassin, a stunning tale of deceit, manipulation and complex relationships in Ontario, Canada, during the Second World War.

The Blind Assassin was awarded the Booker Prize in 2000 for its uncompromising portrait of a former society wife recalling the events surrounding her sister's early suicide. This book captures the flawlessly crafted opening chapters of the novel, in which key events are introduced through distinct narrative threads. Unexplained echoes resonate across the text, creating a sense of mystery and yearning.

Yoko Ono's stunning frontispiece perfectly complements this unsettling, but deeply moving text. Her distinctly feminine drawing offers a dazzling interplay between darkened corners and small intense moments of light, creating a profound visual journey which challenges our perceptions even as it invites our gaze.

This beautiful, exquisitely handbound book offers a unique view onto the work of these two women, both of whom have earned iconic status for their bold explorations of issues of sexual powerplay, loss and human frailty.

"A complex [novel] that works on many different levels. Far reaching, dramatic and structurally superb, it demonstrates Atwood's immense emotional range, as well as her poet's eye for both telling detail and psychological truth."
Simon Jenkins, Booker Prize judge

About the author

Margaret Atwood is the author of more than thirty books of fiction, poetry and critical essays. Her work is marked by a tendency to collapse and subvert different genres, and key novels include The Blind Assassin, The Handmaid's Tale, Cat's Eye and Alias Grace. As well as the Booker, she has won the Giller Prize and the Premio Mondello. She has been translated into thirty three languages and several of her works have been adapted for the stage and screen.

About the artist

Yoko Ono's artworkYoko Ono's work is characterised by a dedication to pioneering new art forms. Her profoundly social art seeks to involve the viewer as an active participant and break down the distinctions between different genres, as well as between art and everyday life. Since her initial involvement in underground art movements in the 1960s and her later collaborative work with John Lennon, Yoko Ono has worked prolifically, exploring issues of time, change and survival through critically acclaimed one-woman shows and retrospectives.
View Yoko Ono's artwork


Volume VI in the First Chapter Series® is published as follows:

150 individually numbered hand bound copies signed and dated by Margaret Atwood, accompanied by a signed print of an ink drawing by Yoko Ono. Presented in a matching hand made slip case and cassette.

The First Chapter Series

The First Chapter Series® of Booker Prize-winning novels is available to buy as a deluxe set limited to 150 copies. The set comprises individually numbered copies of all ten volumes, signed by the author to the title page and hand bound in cloth. Each volume includes signed artwork* enclosed with the book in a matching hand made slip case and cassette. View set

*Please note the following exceptions: Volumes V and X do not come with separate signed artwork; artwork for Volume VIII is unsigned.

Deluxe set of ten books: ₤1500

Order set of ten books

Single deluxe volume

Each deluxe volume of the First Chapter Series contains the individually numbered book signed by the author and hand bound in cloth. This is presented together with signed artwork in a matching hand made slip case and cassette.

Price: ₤225

Purchase single volume


30 numbered prints of Yoko Ono's unique conceptual drawing are also available to purchase separately. These original prints are the only ones to have been produced in a larger format and are ideal for framing. Each is signed by Yoko Ono.

Price: ₤395

Shared Vision CoverShared Vision

This extraordinary collaboration is also available as the first volume in our new SHARED VISION series, which focuses on collaborations between high profile artists.
For more, click here

Order online

Deluxe Set

Set of ten FCS Booker prize books

Order your complete deluxe set of the current Booker Prize First Chapter Series
Set of ten books: ₤1500

Order deluxe set - View set


Deluxe Volume

Order a single copy of Volume VI - Deluxe
Price: ₤225
Purchase Volume VI - Deluxe



Order Yoko Ono's artwork for Blind Assassin

Order your artwork for ₤395
Order artwork

Also available from...

Our books can also be ordered from these fine book dealers:

Adrian Harrington Rare Books - 64a Kensington Church Street, Kensington, London W8 4DB